RSS

Acceptance through Assimilation

10 Aug

This month's cover of O Magazine

This month’s cover of O Magazine


Watching TV, (DVR only, don’t watch commercials much anymore) Dish Nation, my favorite radio TV show, and the topic of discussion is OPRAH and the Cover of this month’s magazine. The cover features Oprah as most of the issues do, only this time she’s rocking a blown out extensive afro. LOVE IT! Heidi Hamilton, the radio host of The Frank & Heidi Show of 95.5 KLOS Los Angeles made negative comments in regards to Oprah and her fro. This surprised me, as all of the comments I heard about this cover expressed how great this photo was. But was that only in the black community in which I immerse myself-friends, talk shows, TV & radio stations?
Instagram posts and comments from US

Instagram posts and comments from US

Instagram post and comments from US

Instagram post and comments from US


(CLICK ON THE PICTURE TO BETTER READ THE CAPTION! sorry for the strain on your eyes)

On INSTAGRAM I came across a few photos that expressed the same dislike of Oprah’s magazine cover. Comments about her hair being ratchet and crazy. This made me wonder was it because they truly thought this picture was bad or was her hair considered “BAD”?

Instagram comments & posts from "Them"

Instagram comments & posts from “Them”

Instagram comments and posts from "Them"

Instagram comments and posts from “Them”

Instagram posts and comments from "Them"

Instagram posts and comments from “Them”

Now I can’t knock people’s opinions, especially radio hosts-that’s their job; What bothers me is the fact that THIS particular cover depicted a strong powerful WEALTHY woman in a NATURUAL hair state (Given there were hair pieces added). The texture of the hair is kinky curly, as opposed to her other covers where it’s straightened.

I understand you are entitled to your opinion, but those are like Belly Buttons-everyone has one, yet mine is cuter.

It floors me, and I’m unsure why-I know the image of a black woman in the natural state is intimidating- yet I guess I just forgot that some White people can’t take the look of black people. From the wide spread nose, plump juicy lips to our various complexions, curves and kinky curls of hair. I bet “they” were happier than “us” when the invention of “hair refining” tools came about. “Finally! Tame those N**g*s and that hair!”

The way we are just isn’t good enough.

How many years have we been in existence in this country and we are still not accepted as we are. We only become accepted as a people if we look and live as White people do, assimilating to their image of perfection, which is more than disturbing. I was guilty of being annoyed by the massive fashion trend of Black women and natural hair. Now I want us all to revert back to our natural state of being, forcing “them” into loving US. When “they” start hating on the richest woman in the world we DEFINITELY have a problem.

Embrace us as we ARE

Embrace us as we ARE

Just a lil of the TRUTH

Blog address I stumbled upon when browsing the internet for hours on end (as I do regularly)Natural Hair:
http://www.sisterswithbeauty.com/2012/02/history-of-the-relaxer/

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2013 in Our Culture/Our World, Random thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Acceptance through Assimilation

  1. docr8der

    August 10, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    They sure look like they took the airbrush scalpel to O. Living thru the 60’s and seeing some insanely huge afro’s at my school, her’s looks fine. Nothing racthet about it…but that airbrushing….
    they just made her look unreal.

     
  2. DesiBjorn

    September 29, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Wow…I didn’t realize that cover received negative comments. I saw it at the grocery store and did a double take cause Oprah is usually up there with that big ’80’s Black broadcaster hair. But I didn’t really think twice about the Afro except to think ‘Oh she did something different with her hair.’ I don’t know if it’s cause I’m a guy but it didn’t seem like a big deal. But since it obviously caused a stir, there’s something definitely a good reason to explore why. Good post.

     

Leave a Reply

 
