RSS

Love the Skin You’re In

25 Jun

Picture property of OWN TV network

Picture property of OWN TV network

Light skinned, dark skinned, paper bag test, kinky hair, curls & waves, red bone, chocolate skin, high yellow, blue black, dark chocolate Almond cream, darky, blacky, midnight, piss colored, black, brown, caramel, yellow, blue, red,… We come in all different colors which makes us all the more beautiful.

So many more things we can label ourselves in regards to our skin color be it positive or negative connotation. The extent of mental damage that has desecrated our race couldn’t have been the master plan of our ancestor’s enslavers. Who could’ve imagined a plan of genocide that would physically and mentally destroy our people? It is our own race that helps to tear down our image.

I thank my mother and family for my self esteem, building me up daily. I never once believed my color was something that made up my beauty. I never thought of light skin being better than dark skin. I’ve heard the stories, and listened to other’s opinions about skin color, but those opinions and conversations never made me feel inferior, or less beautiful than those with lighter skin. It angered me to hear black people speaking ignorantly about each other. “Stay out of the sun or you’ll get blacker,” Words like that are detrimental to our race and our self esteem. What’s sad is how far back in our heritage this mindset reaches. The paper bag test existed way before my mother and father. The separation of light and dark skin seemed to be a way of survival, post slavery. Passing, assimilating to the “superior” race as a way of acceptance was a way of life. I’m glad that there comes a time when we begin to embrace who we are, but for some of us that never happens. It’s not just a African American issue, it is global. The Western influence of “White is Right” is global contamination.

As I write this, I think back to my childhood. I can’t recall wanting to ever be light skinned, but I’m sure there was an instance in which I wished to be something other than I am. I don’t remember guys denying me because of my skin color. I can’t ever remember thinking that if I were lighter, I could get that guy(Mine was more of a flat chest state of mind-different blog topic). To hear that there are guys who won’t date a girl simply because of her skin tone is disheartening.

This blog was inspired by the documentary Dark Girls on Oprah’s channel, OWN network. This documentary sparked great conversation in my household and local community. To hear that many of our women feel or felt a ashamed of their skin color broke my heart. Especially the children. Our children are who we protect, who we build up, who we empower. We cannot continue to accept the metal abuse this society places on us from weight, hair texture, body enhancements and skin color. We have to empower each other with loving ourselves.

Just a lil of THE TRUTH

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2013 in Our Culture/Our World

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Love the Skin You’re In

  1. Dr. K (@docdvr)

    July 2, 2013 at 12:15 am

    My wife is mixed and very lightskinned. In summer she does tan darkly. She keeps her hair long and it is wavy, almost Melanesian in how it looks. Many people ask her if she is Melanesian, especially when we lived in Hawaii.
    She never wears makeup, and when we have to jump out to a formal/black tie deal, she barely wears any. She just never cared or bought into changing herself. Her expenditure for a ‘vanity’ product is gel for her hair when she puts it up, all of it, as she must daily for her job as a naval officer. I love the fact that she doesnt buy into the myriad of products and either downplay her light skin or highlight it. I bought her a $50 gift certificate to Sephora 2 xmas’ ago. Its still on the night stand. The standards set by society and the corporations that manufacture these products are dangerous, and what you say about empowering is important.
    I saw your link in LinkedIn and decided to follow it. I’m glad I did as I read many other of your blogs.
    Keep writing

     
  2. mizdoss

    July 2, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    Thank you for reading! Thank you for leaving a comment! Thank you for the encouragement! Kudos to your wife for loving herself!

     
  3. blackmediawatcher

    December 29, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    ” I can’t ever remember thinking that if I were lighter, I could get that guy(Mine was more of a flat chest state of mind-different blog topic). To hear that there are guys who won’t date a girl simply because of her skin tone is disheartening.”

    That’s the propaganda element at play. There are a minority of black men that feels that way and they was over represented in the film. In American, black people date/marry out the least, it’s a myth that a lot of black men follow the “Light is right” rule and more often than not it boils down to more shallower things like you mentioned.

    Other than that, Great article. I’m glad to see a sister with healthy self-esteem who doesn’t fully co-sign the ‘Dark Girls’ narrative.

     
    • mizdoss

      December 29, 2013 at 9:04 pm

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I just read your Mission Statement on your page, and LOVE it!!! I will be subscribing as a reader hopefully able to contribute to meaningful dialogue on your page.

       

Leave a Reply

 
