RSS

New Cult-Naturalista

23 Aug

 

Not the property of the blogger

 

I understand the hair obsession with women.  For a woman, your hair has to be on point for you to even feel presentable.  My hair is constantly changing from style, color, and length, nothing drastic-I’m toooo scared, but the usual changes. 

Apparently being “natural” is the newest trend in African-American hair for women.  Women are shaving off their processed hair, burning their weaves and wigs, and embarrassing the hair they were blessed with.  India Aire’s “I Am Not My Hair” is a theme song that was a lil before it’s time, but “My Black is Beautiful” is a timeless phrase.  I think it is wonderful for all cultures to embrace who they are, to love the skin (or hair) they are in.  I especially think this is important for Black people as a whole.  People who have been taught since slavery that everything they are-naturally- is negative, should find a way to love themselves and what they represent. (I’m not getting into that though, that’s another blog topic.)

I am not knocking the desire to be natural, I love it…(So what’s my point then huh???)

Just because you choose to be natural in your hair care decisions, don’t knock others for what they choose to do with their hair! Stop treating it like a cult.  I was talking to this girl discussing meeting some people, and she was really concerned about them being natural.  It was almost as if she didn’t want to have anything to do with someone unless they were natural.  She met me when my hair was in a kinky/curly state, wonder what she’ll think when she sees me after this wonderful hair appointment!!!  Why do you have to hang out with only “natural” people, and fear what you were a few years ago. 

I admit it is a brave thing to do, to not conform to the trends of weaves and wigs, but as of now this is the trend, so were you really being brave in making this choice? Are you simply going to relax those tight ass curls when this trend is out of style? I think the moral is love who you are, do it with pride, and respect other’s decisions that differ from yours. If you like it I love it. I wonder what the next hair trend is going to be…

Just a lil bit of THE TRUTH!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 23, 2012 in Our Culture/Our World

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
