RSS

Happily Never After???

19 Aug

So now days, most of my friends are in that FAMILY mode, baby, boyfriend/ /husband.  I notice now that everyone is getting married…at a young age.  I think my 20’s should be spent single, or dating.  Why do people feel like this tender age of mid 20’s is the time to settle down and start a family?  Have they not seen Sex in the City??? I am single, with an occasional date, and loving the freedom, free time and FUN!!! some people just want to feel like they’ve accomplished something I guess. Why not accomplish financial goals, or career goals, or educational goals? So when you return to your highschool reunion at the age of 27 or 28 the scene plays out as follows:

Them: Hey what have you been up to?

You: Oh I’ve been married for 3 years, we have 3 kids, and I work at (enter lame ass job here)—-because you have put no focus on your career, so you must have a lame ass job

Them: Oh really, how sweet

You: How about yourself, any kids?

Them: Nope, just a boyfriend/fiance that loves me and a bangin’ ass job!!! (Snaps fingers and walks away)

You: sit at the table all night sipping Ginger Ale (because you are pregnant with the 4th child) wallowing in your Shoulda, Coulda, Wouldas.

 

My high school reunion should play out like this:

Them: So what have you been up to?

Me: Working, Traveling, Shopping, Dating,-A little of everything

Them: Oh (Mouth drops open)

People, lighten up, you still have a life to live, you can still have kids up until menopause…they might be healthy then too (pray about it).  All I’m saying is don’t be in such a rush to live out the “American Dream” to the point where you can’t live out your Single Lady Dreams!!!

Just a little of  The Truth

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 19, 2012 in Random thoughts

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Happily Never After???

  1. pinkexhilaration

    August 19, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    Love it so true!

     
  2. gorgeousingold

    June 13, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    I agree! At my reunion, a couple of people were discussing their divorce. I was like “WHAT?? Divorce? Already?” That assured me that I am doing the right thing by living my single life to the fullest first! Divorced with two kids at 27….not a good look!

     
    • mizdoss

      June 13, 2013 at 7:33 pm

      I know what you mean, I know people who have been divorced and now remarried at the age of 27…I’ll take my time!

       

Leave a Reply

 
